Parks & Recreation Services

Welcome to the Tecumseh Parks and Recreation Department. 

Click here to download a copy of the 2017 Summer Activity Guide.  You may pick up a copy of the Activity Guide starting on May 1st.

Visit TecumsehRec.ca today!

TecumsehRec.ca is our new Online Registration and Facility Availability website.  Avoid the line-ups and register for recreational programs in the comfort of your own home.  Its convenient and secure.

TecumsehRec.ca also allows you to search for available rental times for Ice Rentals, Pavilion Rentals, and Community Rooms.  TecumsehRec.ca will provide you with up-to-date scheduling information for Public Skating and Public Recreational Swims. 

 

STAY CONNECTED WITH US. 
LIKE US ON FACEBOOK OR FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

Tecumseh Recreation Services
Tecumseh Leisure Pool
@TecumsehRec

 

 

 

HEALTHY KIDS COMMUNITY CHALLENGE

The Town of Tecumseh is proud to be part of the Windsor-Essex Healthy Kids Community Challenge; one of 45 communities across Ontario awarded with a Provincial Grant to promote healthy eating, physical activity and health lifestyle choices for children between the ages of 0 and 12.  Over the next 3 years, the Windsor-Essex region will unite to collaborate on programs that promote healthy behaviours in an effort to reduce and prevent childhood overweightness and obesity.  For information on the Healthy Kids Community Challenge programs and initiatives, visit www.WEhealthykids.ca.
 


Tecumseh Parks and Recreation is pleased to announce that we are an "in motion" community.  Under the auspices of SWARG (South Western Area Recreational Guild), and with strong commitment from our local Health Unit we are following a comprehensive community-wide strategy to improve health through physical activity.  The Tecumseh Parks and Recreation staff are pleased to lead our community in this local health initiative.

Tecumseh Parks and Recreation offers the community a variety of leisure and recreation venues. The Department is committed to providing leisure opportunities to residents and visitors through programs, special events, facilities, parks and trails while supporting community partnerships and volunteers. In doing so, it is the Department’s goal to enhance quality of life and encourage the community to develop a healthy and active lifestyle.

The Parks Department provides residents and visitors with over 200 acres of green space and trails, including Lacasse Park, McAuliffe Park, Green Acres Park and Weston Park. The Department is responsible for providing safe, clean and presentable ground maintenance of its numerous sport fields, playgrounds, community and neighbourhood parks, urban forests and natural areas.

The Recreation office is located in Tecumseh Arena and is the key facilitator for community programming, special events, and seasonal sports. The Department works closely with community groups and volunteers to develop and plan for sustaining programs and events to enrich our community calendar, including the annual Tecumseh Corn Festival. The Department coordinates facility rentals for Tecumseh Arena, community rooms, sports fields, park pavilions and the Tecumseh Leisure Pool. The Department programs activities for residents including, skating, swimming and fitness.

More information may be found in the Parks and Recreation Master Plan.
 

The Parks and Recreation Department is supported by:

Name Title Extension Number Select to contact by email
Paul Anthony Director Parks & Recreation 735-4756 x423 panthony@tecumseh.ca
Casey Colthurst Manager Parks & Horticulture 735-2184 x146 ccolthurst@tecumseh.ca
Kerri Rice Manager Recreation Programs & Events 735-4756 x421 krice@tecumseh.ca
Ray Hammond Manager Town Facilities 735-4756 x426 rhammond@tecumseh.ca
Karen Silani Clerk II - Administrative Clerk 735-4756 x422 ksilani@tecumseh.ca
Shannon Kadar Clerk II - Administrative Clerk 735-4756 X425 skadar@tecumseh.ca
Brett Palmer Supervisor Recreation Programs & Events 735-4756x424 bpalmer@tecumseh.ca